Chestnut Cove

The author’s artwork-with its warm, organic tones of green, gray, brown and yellow- is both highly original in its sensibility and classic in its appeal.
Publisher’s Weekly

In the tradition of James Marshall’s George and Martha, the shmoo-like hippos of Chestnut Cove are drawn with the utmost simplicity, but their tiny eyes and eyebrowsconvey a world of feeling. Ducks, pigs, and emulike birds roam freely through tidy streets and spacious living rooms, fully accepted members of the community. A distinctive, unconventional ribtickler with a deftly delivered point.
School Library Journal

The lesson is gentle, the storytelling laconic, and the pictures are wonderfully domestic and silly.

  • Winner, C.S. Lewis Award